The judgement includes the Under-19 World Cups as well, and over-rate fines for WTC games are capped at 50% of the match price.

Men’s and women’s cricket World Cup winners will now share the same prize money. Following its annual conference in Durban today, the ICC confirmed equal prize money for both men’s and women’s competitions, giving the women’s game a huge boost. The Under-19 World Cups are also covered by the decision

Best decision

“This is a significant moment in the history of our sport, and I am delighted that men’s and women’s cricketers competing at ICC global events will now be rewarded equally,” said ICC chair Greg Barclay. “Since 2017, our prize pool has grown.”

winning the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup will carry the same prize money as winning the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup going forward, and the same is true for T20 World Cups and U-19s as well. at women’s competitions every year with a clear goal on obtaining equal prize money.

Equality and empowerment through world Cup

Men’s and women’s cricket teams will share the same prize money for victories in individual matches, second-place finishes, semi-final appearances, etc. at equivalent World Cups.

Australia got US$ 1 million as prize money for winning the Women’s T20 World Cup earlier this year. In November 2022, England won the corresponding men’s title and US$ 1.6 million in prize money.

Slow over rates won’t cause players to lose their entire match cost.

The ICC also set a 50% cap on over-rate fines during the World Test Championship. Every extra player that their team has will result in a 5% fine of their cost, up to a maximum of 50%. The Chief Executives’ Committee (CEC) of the ICC made the choice.

Even the over rate is slow, there won’t be an over-rate penalty if a team is dismissed before the new ball is required at 80 overs. The current 60 over threshold is replaced by this, according to the ICC website.

New rule on late over penalty in W Test cricket

Men’s Cricket Committee head and CEC member Sourav Ganguly stated, “The Men’s Cricket Committee felt strongly that over-rate penalties in the form of WTC points deductions should remain but recommended that players shouldn’t have 100% of their match fee at risk.” “We think this strikes a balance between preserving over-rates and making sure we’re not discouraging players from playing Test cricket,” the statement continued.

This regulation will be applied retroactively to the current WTC cycle, which began with an Ashes

Prize money discussion

Every year since 2017, we have raised the prize money for women’s competitions with the goal of achieving parity. The ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup, Twenty20 World Cups, and Under-19 competitions will all now carry the same prize money as the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup going forward.

Australia brought home $1 million in prize money for winning the women’s Twenty20 World Cup earlier this year, while South Africa, who finished in second place, received $500,000.

However, after winning the T20 World Cup in November of last year, the English men’s team took home $1.6 million, while Pakistan, who finished as the losing finalist, received $800,000.

Jay Shah, the secretary of the BCCI, praised the ICC on Twitter and wrote: “Start of a new day. An era of equality and empowerment.”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top